MEAC Tennis Champ
Delaware State Women ()
Winner SC State Lady Bulldogs ()

CARY, N.C., April 29, 2023 – South Carolina State defeated Delaware State 4-0 on Saturday morning at the Cary Tennis Park to win the 2023 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) women’s tennis championship.


The Bulldogs won their third straight championship, and 17th overall, and earned the MEAC’s automatic bid to the NCAA Women’s Tennis Championship.


The selection show will stream live on on Monday, May 1 at 6 p.m.


South Carolina State got started with a strong doubles performance, winning at both No. 1 and No. 3. Nalanda Silva and Teodora Vujicic won 6-0 at No. 3, before Sofiya Chursina and Hind Semlali took a 7-5 win at No. 1 to give the Bulldogs the doubles point.


From there, the Bulldogs were dominant on the singles courts. Malannia Vashkevich and Silva were strong at Nos. 6 and 5 singles, respectively, as both players won their matches 6-0, 6-0.


Chursina was also dominant at No. 1 singles, defeating Kit Yi Kay Au-Yeung 6-1, 6-1.


Chursina, the MEAC Player of the Year, was named the championship’s Outstanding Performer, while MEAC Coach of the Year Hardeep Judge was named Outstanding Coach.


For more information, please visit the Championship Central page.
Outstanding Performer: Sofiya Chursina, South Carolina State

Outstanding Coach: Hardeep Judge, South Carolina State


All-Tournament Team

#1 Doubles: Sofiya Chursina/Hind Semlali (SCSU)

#2 Doubles: N/A*

#3 Doubles: Teodora Vujicic/Nalanda Silva (SCSU)


#1 Singles: Sofiya Chursina, South Carolina State

#2 Singles: Noelani Lui, Delaware State

#3 Singles: Hind Semlali, South Carolina State

#4 Singles: Teodora Vujicic, South Carolina State

#5 Singles: Nalanda Silva, South Carolina State

#6 Singles: Malannia Vashkevich, South Carolina State