NORFOLK, Va., (July 17, 2022)  – The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) will host its annual Football Media Day, presented by Cricket, on Friday, July 29 at the Hilton The Main Norfolk (100 E. Main Street, Norfolk, VA 23510 / 757-763-6200) in downtown Norfolk at 9 a.m.

Head coaches and two student-athletes from the MEAC’s six football-playing institutions will be in attendance. There will be a live show, streamed live on ESPN+, hosted by Tiffany Greene and Jay Walker, that will begin at 11 a.m. In addition, each coach and student-athlete will be available for one-on-one interviews with media in attendance, beginning at 9 a.m.

Media interested in covering this year’s Media Day can apply for applications by clicking here. The deadline to apply for credentials is 5 p.m. on Friday, July 22.

Credential pick-up for media in attendance will begin at 8:30 a.m. Media attending in-person agree to adhere to the MEAC’s COVID-19 protocols, which at minimum will be in accordance with the CDC and the Commonwealth of Virginia and may be even more strict. This may include providing proof of vaccination, mask wearing and social distancing, regardless of vaccination status.

The 2022 MEAC football season will kick off on Saturday, Aug. 27 in Atlanta, Ga., with the Cricket MEAC/SWAC Challenge Kickoff, which will see Howard square off against Alabama State. The game will kick off at 7 p.m., live on ESPN.

Here are the student-athletes currently scheduled to be in attendance (subject to change):

Delaware State: LB Kamari Jackson, WR Bizzet Woodley

Howard: QB Quinton Williams, DL Darrian Brokenburr

Morgan State: DB Bruce Mattox, OL Dexter Carr

Norfolk State: LB Marquis Hall, OL Colby Byrd

North Carolina Central: OL Torricelli Simpkins, DB Brandon Codrington

South Carolina State: QB Corey Fields, DE Jeblonski Green



About the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference

The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) is in its 52nd year of intercollegiate competition with the 2022-23 academic school year. Located in Norfolk, Va., the MEAC is made up of eight outstanding historically Black institutions across the Atlantic coastline: Coppin State University, Delaware State University, Howard University, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Morgan State University, Norfolk State University, North Carolina Central University and South Carolina State University.