NORFOLK, Va., (April 27, 2022)—The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) has announced the 2022 Men’s and Women’s Tennis All-Academic selections, honoring 49 student-athletes from the conference’s six men’s tennis- and seven women’s tennis-playing institutions who have achieved academic success.

MEAC sophomore, junior and senior student-athletes with a 3.0 or better cumulative grade point average (GPA), as well as transfer student-athletes who have been in residence at the institution for at least one year, are eligible for All-Academic accolades.

Congratulations to our men’s and women’s tennis All-Academic student-athletes,” MEAC Commissioner Sonja Stills said. “Academic success may not generate the attention athletic success does, but it is no less important, and these student-athletes are to be celebrated for their accomplishments in the classroom.”

Listed below are the 2022 Men’s and Women’s Tennis All-Academic honorees (by institution):

Coppin State (9)
Kristina Georgieva
Iva Jankovic
Mackenzie Jones
Lucia Placidi
Christy Turner
Vansh Kappor
Luka Markovic
Sergiu Medesan
Dean Waterman

Delaware State (1)
Klaudija Lisovska

Howard (10)
Kendall Addison
Alexandra Blackwell
Justin Cadeau
Hassimiyou Dieng
Hana El Sherif
Yemisi Ifederu
Gabe Knowles
Kyle Martin
Emnet Simunyola
Pierce Westbrook

Morgan State (7)
Isabel Ana Aran-Torrente
Ana-Lei Kalawe-Edwards
Sebastian Lopez
Averiana Mitchell
Stefania Moysiadi
Asmara Rose
Nihit Rawal

Norfolk State (7)
Ibrahim Abbas
Andrea Barcenas
Niya Grant
Zada McMorris
Federico Rebecchini
Ryan Richter
Jeremiah Zellander

North Carolina Central (6)
Amit Baran
Miles Clark
Shaka Cristellotti
Hannah Gaines
Jade Houston
Maria Picazo

South Carolina State (9)
Anabel Aguilar-Ramirez
Selim Ali Ben
Diego Arzaluz
Rachida Berjane
Omer Gorgun
Lasya Patnaik
Ikram Rassif
Hind Semlali
Luka Stedanovic

About the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference
The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) is in its 51st year of intercollegiate competition with the 2021-22 academic school year. Located in Norfolk, Va., the MEAC is made up of eight outstanding historically black institutions across the Atlantic coastline: Coppin State University, Delaware State University, Howard University, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Morgan State University, Norfolk State University, North Carolina Central University and South Carolina State University.