NORFOLK, Va., (February 8, 2022) — South Carolina State sophomore Deasia Lowther was named to the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Second Team, presented by TowneBank, the conference announced.

All awards were voted on by the conference’s head coaches and sports information directors.

Lowther (So., 1B|P) from East, Dublin, GA started in 28 games for the Bulldogs last season led the team in hitting with a batting average of .304, with 69 at bats, 21 hits, 11, RBI’s and four (4) homeruns. As a pitcher she was 3-13 overall with 36 strikeouts.

Others earning honors were, Howard senior Camille Navarro was named the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Softball Preseason Player of the Year and Norfolk State junior Cam Andersen was named Preseason Pitcher of the Year, respectively.

In addition, Morgan State and Norfolk State tied as the preseason favorites to win the 2022 MEAC softball regular-season championship.

The 2022 MEAC Softball Championship will be held in Norfolk, Va. on the campus of Norfolk State University May 11-14.

The 2022 MEAC softball season begins the weekend of Feb. 11-13, when six of the conference’s eight softball-playing institutions are in action.
2022 MEAC Softball Predicted Order of Finish
(as voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors)


School (First-place votes)Points
T-1. Morgan State (6)107
T-1. Norfolk State (3)107
3. Howard (5)104
4. North Carolina Central (1)77
5. Delaware State64
6. Coppin State59
7. Maryland Eastern Shore (1)35
8. South Carolina State23
2022 MEAC Softball Preseason All-Conference Teams
(as voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors)

Preseason Player of the Year: Camille Navarro, Howard
Preseason Pitcher of the Year: Cam Andersen, Norfolk State


Cam AndersenP5-5Jr.Norfolk StateNorfolk, Va.
Alexis RobinsonP5-10Jr.Norfolk StateVirginia Beach, Va.
Tuli IosefaC5-5r-Sr.Norfolk StateVirginia Beach, Va.
Gabby Vaughan1B5-6Sr.Norfolk StateChesapeake, Va.
Camille Navarro2B5-6Sr.HowardLos Angeles, Calif.
Natalie Davila3B5-8Jr.HowardCarson, Calif.
Desiree CarrizosaSS5-2r-Jr.Coppin StateMoreno Valley, Calif.
Jonah CunniganOF5-5Sr.Delaware StateCorona, Calif.
Imani MooreOF5-9Jr.Norfolk StateLos Angeles, Calif.
Aliya EwellOF5-5Sr.Morgan StatePortland, Ore.
Brissa AlvaradoUTL5-8r-Jr.Coppin StateRialto, Calif.
Vanessa CarrizosaP5-2So.Coppin StateMoreno Valley, Calif.
Deasia LowtherP5-8SoSouth Carolina StateEast Dublin, Ga.
Madison MifsudC5-2Sr.North Carolina CentralJacksonville, Fla.
Hailey Batista1B5-5So.North Carolina CentralMebane, N.C.
Mia Ewell2B5-6So.Morgan StatePortland, Ore.
Maegan Garrison3B5-4Jr.North Carolina CentralHarrisburg, N.C.
Jayla BarrSS5-6So.North Carolina CentralBatesburg-Leesville, S.C.
Alison GuckinOF5-3Sr.Norfolk StateVirginia Beach, Va.
Yrral DavisOF5-5r-So.Norfolk StateNorfolk, Va.
Isabella ZalbaOF5-4Jr.Coppin StateSan Mateo, Calif.
Kalita DennisUTL5-7Sr.HowardElks Grove, Calif.

About the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference
The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) is in its 51st year of intercollegiate competition with the 2021-22 academic school year. Located in Norfolk, Va., the MEAC is made up of eight outstanding historically black institutions across the Atlantic coastline: Coppin State University, Delaware State University, Howard University, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Morgan State University, Norfolk State University, North Carolina Central University and South Carolina State University.