RB

 

ORANGEBURG, SC (November 7, 2023) —Freshman man running Jawarn Howell has earned national honors in his performance against Howard, which led to an 27-24 win over the Bison this past Saturday (Nov. 4th) at Oliver C. Dawson.

A true freshman, Howell carried the ball 27 times for 283 yards and three touchdowns as South Carolina State beat Howard 27-24, knocking the Bison from first place in the MEAC. He scored on his first touch in each half – 48- and 85-yard runs, respectively – also had a 16-yard TD, and secured 10 first downs. In a three-game span, he’s averaged 10.8 yards per carry while rushing for 528 yards and seven TDs.

Howell was named FedEx Ground FCS National Offensive Player of the Week, HBCU National Player of the Week by BOXTOROW and MEAC Offensive Player of the Week, respectively.

Howell will be highlighted on the national sports talk show BOXTOROW w/ Donal Ware which airs on radio stations across the country including on ESPN Orangeburg. A list of radio stations that carry the program can be found here www.boxtorow.com/affiliate-stations

BOXTOROW also airs on Satellite Radio on SiriusXM College Sports Radio, Fridays 6p ET/5p CT/4p PT, and on SiriusXM Channel 142 H.B.C.U. on Saturdays 9a ET/8a CT/6a PT.
Follow the Bulldogs
For complete coverage of SC State Athletics, follow us on social media @SCStateAthletic (Twitter), SCStateBulldogs (Facebook), and @SCStateAthletics (Instagram), or visit the official home of SC State Athletics at www.scsuathletics.com.

 

Nationahonors

RECENT STORIES