ORANGEBURG, SC (February 18, 2022) – South Carolina State athletics will be on prominent display Saturday at the inaugural Legacy Bowl at Tulane’s Yalman Stadium in New Orleans. The contest is set for 4 p.m. EDT and will be televised live by the NFL Network.

Four players from SCSU’s 2021 Celebration Bowl-winning squad (7-5, 5-0 MEAC) will be among 16 from the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) participating in the contest, which will give players from Historical Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) an opportunity to showcase their talent in front of scouts and other team personnel from National Football League (NLF) teams.

Representing the Bulldogs on Team Gaither — made up of players from the MEAC and Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) – will be LB Chad Gilchrist, OL Tison Gray, DB Zafir Kelly and WR Will Vereen. Bulldog head coach Buddy Pough will be the Co-head coach of Team Gaither. Bowie State’s Damon Wilson is the other Co-head coach.

Team Gaither, honoring late Florida A&M head coach Jake Gaither, will battle Team Robinson, which honors late Grambling head coach Eddie Robinson. Team Robinson will be made up of players from the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) and the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC). Florida A&M’s Willie Simons and Gabe Giordina of Albany State will serve as Co-head coaches for Team Robinson.

MEAC Players by School:

Matthew Derks (OL) – 2021 First Team All-MEAC)
Trey Gross (WR – 2021 First Team All-MEAC)

Aaron Walker (DB – 2021 Third Team All-MEAC)

Morgan State
Neil Boudreau (P/QB – 2021 Second Team All-MEAC at P)

Norfolk State
Juwan Carter (QB – 2021 MEAC Offensive POTY)
De’Shaan Dixon (OL – 2021 First Team All-MEAC)
Chris Myers (DE – 2021 First Team All-MEAC)
Jalen Powell (OL – 2021 First Team All-MEAC)

North Carolina Central
Isiah Macklin (TE – 2021 Third Team All-MEAC)
Ryan McDaniel (WR – 2021 Second Team All-MEAC)
Noah Rainbow-Douglas (LB – 2021 First Team All-MEAC)
Isaiah Totten (RB)

South Carolina State
Chad Gilchrist (LB – 2021 First Team All-MEAC)
Tison Gray (OL)
Zafir Kelly (DB – 2021 First Team All-MEAC
Will Vereen (WR – 2021 Second Team All-MEAC