The FCS Football Central Freshman All-American Team is here. This team recognizes the best freshman players from across the subdivision. 49 players from 43 programs are recognized on the Freshman All-American Team.

Bulldog freshman running back Jawarn Howell ranks among the best in the nation.

HOWELL (6-1, 215 Freshman) the Mooresville, NC native led the MEAC in rushing with 808 yards (80.9 ypg) on 102 carries, and 7 TDs. He also recorded ten receptions for 149 yards, 2 TDs in nine games. He was named the FedEx Ground FCS National Offensive Player of the Week following a 283-yard rushing performance on 27 carries and three touchdowns in the Bulldogs’ win over Howard. In addition to the national honors, Howell earned MEAC Rookie of the Week honors for four straight weeks.  He is a finalist for the Jerry Rice Award named to the top rookie in all FCS Division I-AA.

Below are the best freshmen from across the FCS in 2023.

2023 FCS Freshman All-Americans


QB: Jaylen King (Gardner-Webb)
QB: Marqui Adams (Delaware State)
RB: Eli Gillman (Montana)
RB: Jawarn Howell (South Carolina State)
RB: Malachi Hosley (Penn)
RB: Jared White (Montana State)
RB: MJ Flowers (Eastern Illinois)
RB: Jordan Gant (Tennessee State)
WR: Brendan Jenkins (Samford)
WR: Beau Sparks (Utah Tech)
WR: Zach Mitchell (Southern Utah)
WR: Anthony Johnson (Stony Brook)
WR: Jaylen Bonelli (Wagner)
TE: Colby Ramshaw (New Hampshire)
TE: Jaxson Davis (Mississippi Valley State)
OL: Conner Moore (Montana State)
OL: Quaveon Davis (Jackson State)
OL: KJ Brooks (Towson)
OL: Sean Dugery (UAlbany)
OL: Samuel Eskridge (Norfolk State)
OL: Alex Ramirez (Idaho State)
AP: Griffin Woodell (UAlbany)


DL: Jaylon Joseph (Lafayette)
DL: Eriq George (Tennessee State)
DL: Charles Perkins (UT Martin)
DL: Keyshawn Johnson (Grambling State)
DL: William Robinson (Holy Cross)
DL: Rasheed Lovelace (Nicholls State)
LB: Joshua Iseah (North Carolina A&T)
LB: Carter Glassmyer (Saint Francis)
LB: AJ Richardson (Norfolk State)
LB: Michael Montgomery (Portland State)
LB: Marco Patierno (Elon)
LB: Tye Niekamp (Illinois State)
LB: Xe’ree Alexander (Idaho)
DB: Alex McLaughlin (Northern Arizona)
DB: Aaron Sears (Stephen F. Austin)
DB: Syeed Gibbs (Rhode Island)
DB: Ja’son Prevard (Morgan State)
DB: Damien Henderson (Harvard)
DB: Mason Young (Idaho State)
DB: Kam Canterbury (Long Island)

Special Teams:

K: Owen Zalc (Dartmouth)
K: Jack Berkowitz (Elon)
K: Hunter Green (Northern Colorado)
P: Orion Phillips (Murray State)
P: Adam Watford (North Alabama)
AP: Gavin Lochow (Dayton)
AP: VJ Wilkins (Campbell)